Nate's Euro Life

April 14, 2010

Home Sweet Home

Filed under: Uncategorized — natechastain @ 10:26 pm

So I’ve been back in Madrid for a week and a half now. This is the part where I tell you that nothing really has happened but you read on, hoping for some kind of entertaining reading, and it never shows up. Well here starts my ramble. I love being back here. My Spanish is improving a ton and I’m beginning to realize that more and more. I like my situation here. I have little to no homework yet I learn a ton and am in one of the best classes I’ve had in my college career. I have fun friends to hang out with and we go out a lot. I get to talk to a little old lady in Spanish every day, while eating authentic Spanish cuisine. I get to travel a lot, and countless other little small cultural things. It hit me a few days ago that I’m leaving in a month, and it was a bit disappointing. When you make a place your home, it’s obviously hard to leave it. You’ve invested all your emotions into settling in, only to uproot them and place them back in reality. I think I’m feeling this now because I’m about to leave. The thought of leaving has allowed me to value all of this. Hold on, I need to dab some tears from my eyes…………..okay done. I’m glad it has hit me with a month left rather than a week 😉  I’m going to be creeped out by clerks that only speak English, Wal-Marts, and fast food. Speaking of American things, I let my friend Stacy borrow my sunglasses under one condition: that she uses the Peanut Butter her parents mailed her to make me a PB&J sandwhich. It was one of the better sandwhiches in my life. So thank you Stacy.

So last night, I went with a few friends to this intercambios at a bar. Intercambios is a place where you go to talk to people in order to learn a different language. It was a very hospitable and open atmosphere and I got to use Spanish and listen to Spanish, meet different natives, as long as I helped them with their English. Pretty cool deal, right? Anyways, I wish I had found this place earlier. It’s every Tuesday night, so every Tuesday that I have left I’m definitely hitting this place up.

Today we had our Prado class at a different location. Unfortunately, Matt and I found that out after we had got on the bus to head to the museum. We then had to hop on a metro and head back to a small church next to the river in Madrid. This is where Goya is buried and one of his most famous works, a gigantic ceiling mural, is found. Why is it that every time I step in front of a famous tomb, I imagine myself opening it up and seeing the skeleton of the dead person just chillin’ out. I’ve literally done that to Goya, Paul, Peter, and a bunch of dead kings. Am I a bad person? Although I abhor standing for long periods of time, our teacher is a genius and I’m glad I’m taking advantage of this class.

On an additional and non-related note, I have a phone interview with Plattform Ad Agency on Monday night. We’ll see how that goes. It’s for a part-time internship with flexible hours. Sounds like exactly what I wan: to get experience, hands-on work, fulfill Jewell’s internship requirement, still have time to work at Robeks to get some cash, and do awesome summer stuff. I’m excited. So let’s all pray for that to work out. Ready? GO! Joke…but seriously, you should pray.

MY MOM’S BIRTHDAY IS THIS WEEK. So, if you know Julie you better give her a huge hug, a Happy Birthday sign, or a bag of cherry licorice because that’s one of her favorite candies. Or M&Ms. Oh, and if you’re getting M&Ms, you should get an extra bag for me too. Seriously, I freaking love those things.

Alright, I’m becoming less and less coherent. I will make more posts like this. The ones that aren’t ridiculously long, yet somewhat enjoyable.

P.S. I share birthdays with Pat Sajak, Gregg Gillis (Girl Talk), anddddd Hillary Clinton. Yeah…you killed it Hillary…you killed it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.